Wednesday, January 17, 2007

CFP: Wharton Panels at MLA 2007

MLA 2007

The Edith Wharton Society will sponsor two panels at the 2007 MLA in Chicago. Presenters must be members of the Edith Wharton Society; nonmembers submitting proposals may join after their proposal is accepted.

1. Beyond Pro- or Anti-: Toward Edith Wharton’s Racial Politics. Readings sought that grapple with Wharton’s complex racial politics, moving beyond viewing her as either sympathetic or hostile to difference. Regional, national, global approaches welcome. Abstracts and c.v.s to Meredith Goldsmith by March 10.

2. Edith Wharton and Illness
This panel wants to explore the significant role illness (and health) played in Wharton's life, context, and works. All approaches to this topic are welcome. Please send abstracts (about 500 words) and short CV's by March 10th to Hildegard Hoeller ( or at 29 Gail Court, Staten Island NY 10306.


Tuesday, January 02, 2007

Results from the Edith Wharton Society Executive Board Elections


President (2007-2009):
Hildegard Hoeller, CUNY-Staten Island

Vice President (2007-2009):
Edie Thornton, University of Wisconsin, Whitewater

Secretary (2007-2009):
Margaret Murray, Western Connecticut State University

Treasurer: Carole Shaffer-Koros, Kean University

Current At-large Executive Board Members

Katherine Joslin, Western Michigan University (January 1, 2007-January 1, 2009)
Meredith Goldsmith, Ursinus College (January 1, 2007-January 1, 2009)
Gary Totten, North Dakota State University (January 1, 2007-January 1, 2009)
Laura Saltz, Colby College (2003-2005; re-elected January 1, 2005-January 1, 2007; January 1, 2007-January 1, 2009)
Betsy Klimasmith, University of Massachusetts-Amherst (January 1, 2006-January 1, 2008)
Emily Orlando, Tennessee State University (January 1, 2006-January 1, 2008)

The Co-editors of the Edith Wharton Review, Carole Shaffer-Koros and Linda Costanzo-Cahir, also serve on the Executive Board.